Day in Rock logo

Day in Rock Report for 09/17/2023

Sum 41 frontman Deryck Whibley has been discharged from the hospital after treated for pneumonia and the 43-year-old vocalist is currently under the care of his mother and wife.

His wife Ariana Whibley shared the following update via social media, "I'm very happy to be giving this update. Deryck was discharged after responding so well to his treatments. He is now under the care of his mother who is a registered nurse and myself.The pressure and strain on his heart and lungs has improved and he is able to breath without as much pain. (continue)

More Sum 41 News

Eric Clapton has teamed up with Bradley Walker for a brand new cover version of the Willie Nelson classic "Always On My Mind" and have also released a video for the track.

The cover pays homage to the country legend in celebration of his 90th birthday. The music video was premiered on MTV First Look alongside a Times Square video billboard. (continue)

More Eric Clapton News

NEEDTOBREATHE will be celebrating the release of their new album, CAVES", with a performance of their the song "Dreams" with Judah & The Lion live on the TODAY Show on September 19th and they have shared a music video for the track.

CAVES is a collection of awe-inspiring melodies, breathtaking instrumentation and epic-scale energy, giving the band's soul-probing approach a bigger, more expansive new scope--one that American Songwriter writes is "brimming with anthemic, arena-worthy sounds" and has "larger-than-life productions." (continue)


(hennemusic) Metallica is sharing video of a pair of Black Album classics from an August 25 show in Los Angeles, CA. Fans can view footage of "Nothing Else Matters" and "Sad But True" from the first of two shows at the city's Sofi Stadium, which also marked the band's first performance at the venue.

"Nothing Else Matters" recently made headlines when it surpassed one billion streams on Spotify. The third single from Metallica's 1991 self-titled record joins previous hits to reach the milestone on the streaming service including songs by Survivor, ABBA, One Republic, Coldplay and The Police, among others. (continue)

More Metallica News

Compass Records is excited to announce the release of the deluxe edition version of Colin Hay's acclaimed 2022 album NOW AND THE EVERMORE. The bonus disc version, titled NOW AND THE EVERMORE (MORE), includes 7 previously unreleased tracks from the original recording sessions and features Gregg Bissonette (Ringo Starr & His All-Starr Band), Jimmy Earl (Jimmy Kimmel Live! Band), Jim Hoke (NRBQ), Michael McGoldrick, Cecilia Noël, and Reese Wynans (Double Trouble).

Says Hay, "Listening to these songs, which were part of the NOW AND THE EVERMORE recording sessions, I am struck by a sense of yearning. For what is unclear, but the context is set within the fleeting nature of time, and the subsequent importance of the here and now. I think they deserve to run free." (continue)

More Colin Hay News

2023 sees the 50th anniversary of what is widely regarded as Thin Lizzy's breakthrough album 'Vagabonds Of The Western World' featuring their first UK top ten single 'Whiskey In The Jar' and 'The Rocker' which would go on to be one of the band's signature tunes, so much so that it was the last song they ever performed at their final show in 1983.

To celebrate the album's golden anniversary, deluxe CD and LP sets featuring rarities, radio sessions, unreleased music, rare photos, extensive sleevenotes by Mark Blake, and memorabilia will be released on 17th November. The reissue suite also includes the album remixed in Dolby Atmos, a first for any Thin Lizzy record. (continue)

More Thin Lizzy News

Heart frontman Ann Wilson has shared a brand new track called "This In Now", which comes from the forthcoming album, with her band Tripsitter, entitled "ANOTHER DOOR," that will arrive on September 29, 2023.

Prior to starting the 2023 tour, Ann Wilson & Tripsitter finished ANOTHER DOOR, a record of all-original material, which marks the first time since the '70s that Ann has written a full-length album collectively with a band. Tripsitter features Tony Lucido (bass), Ryan Wariner (guitars), Sean T Lane (drums), and Paul Moak (guitars and keyboards). Tom Bukovac (guitars) was also a primary contributor. (continue)

More Ann Wilson News

Neil Young 50th anniversary release of 'Time Fades Away' set for November 3rd release via Reprise Records and will be available on limited edition clear vinyl only and with new bonus track "The Last Trip To Tulsa".

It is impossible to pinpoint when a new album will become a classic. And while sometimes there are signals, often such a designation comes as a complete surprise. When Neil Young's 1973 live album release TIME FADES AWAY arrived, it was obviously a left-field surprise. It was recorded with the Stray Gators, and featured previously unreleased songs. At a time when the Young's popularity was surging following his highly successful studio album HARVEST, the new live album raised questions and even Young responded at the time, "TIME FADES AWAY was the worst record I ever made, but as a door of what was happening to me it was a great record." In so many ways, this music is the perfect window on the unpredictable trajectory of one of rock & roll's true pioneers. TIME FADES AWAY 50 will be released on limited edition clear vinyl only this November 3, via Reprise Records. This definitive 9 song iteration of the album contains a bonus track of "The Last Trip To Tulsa," which originally appeared on Archives Vol.2 Box set. This version of the song appears on vinyl only for the first time ever. TIME FADES AWAY 50 will be available at the Greedy Hand Store at Neil Young Archives (NYA) and music retailers everywhere. All Greedy Hand Store purchases come with free hi-res digital audio downloads from the Xstream Store at NYA. (continue)

More Neil Young News

Share this article: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit email this article