Rush Stars To Induct Yes Into Rock Hall


(Gibson) The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has released information about its 2017 Induction Ceremony and revealed that Rush's Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson will induct Yes.

Geddy Lee, in particular, was hugely influenced by late Yes bassist Chris Squire. Telling Guitar World of when he first heard Yes, Lee once explained, "I was totally amazed. I'd never heard a band like this, and I'd never heard a bass player placed so upfront in the mix. Chris Squire had such a driving, aggressive sound, and it made this ["Time and a Word"] such a pivotal, influential song for me. Squire's melodies were brilliant, and they were definitely out there."

Neil Young will induct Pearl Jam. The two acts are, of course, good friends as well as collaborators. Notably, Pearl Jam backed Young on his Mirror Ball album of 1995 and have played live together numerous times. Pearl Jam continue to play "Rockin' in the Free World" at their own shows.

Jackson Browne will induct Joan Baez. The two legends have collaborated before, notably on Browne's "Before the Deluge" of 1974. They duetted on that song again at Baez's star-studded 75th-birthday celebration show of January 2016. Read more here.

Yes Music, DVDs, Books and more

Yes T-shirts and Posters

More Yes News

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article

Related Stories

Yes All Star Tribute Album Released For 50th Anniversary

Yes Reveal Final Artists Joining Them On 2019 Cruise To The Edge

Yes Featuring ARW Release live Owner Of A Lonely Heart Video

Yes Featuring ARW Release Live Video For Classic Hit

Yes Featuring ARW Kick Off US Tour With Rare Club Show

Yes Featuring ARW Release Live Roundabout Video

Yes Feat ATW Release Performance Video From 50th Anniversary Release

Yes Kick Off Anniversary Tour With Rare Club Show

Yes (Anderson, Rabin and Wakeman) Reveal New Song 'Fragile'

Yes Guitarist Steve Howe To Be Named 2018 Prog God


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.