Day in Rock logo

Day in Rock Report for 05/24/2024

Max Bemis and his band Say Anything release their first album since 2019, the aptly-titled ...Is Committed, on Dine Alone Records. The LP features a brash collection of deeply personal songs, and is to emo band reunion records what Gremlins 2: The New Batch is to film sequels: a self-conscious parody, simultaneously upending and exceeding expectations. This is a band that has rediscovered the initial spark that lit the flame of inspiration over twenty years ago, when Bemis formed the outfit with drummer Coby Linder at Camp Ramah in Ojai, CA.

Previously released singles include the band's urgent reintroduction "PSYCHE!," the heartbreaking "ARE YOU (IN) THERE?," "CARRIE & LOWELL & CODY (PENDENT)," a song about codependency, alienation, and resolving conflict with the ones closest to you, "I, VIBRATOR," in which Bemis lampoons the traditional "for the ladies" song by writing about his desire to be a disembodied vibrator used as a tool of female sexual empowerment, and most recently "ON CUM," a textbook ripper, packed with allusions to the bands that formed the soundtrack to Emo Nite and the When We Were Young Festival, which the band is set to perform at in October. (continue)

More Say Anything News

Black Sabbath fans will get the opportunity to preview two songs from the forthcoming ANNO DOMINI 1989-1995 set with the release of a new double A side digital single featuring the tracks 'Evil Eye' (from the 'Cross Purposes' album) and 'Get A Grip' (from 'Forbidden'). 'Get A Grip' is accompanied by an HD upgrade of the original animated video.

Sabbath's history with singers Ozzy Osbourne and Ronnie James Dio has been chronicled extensively through the years in multiple collections. Until now, no boxed set has focused on Black Sabbath's time with Tony Martin, the band's second-longest-serving singer. (continue)

More Black Sabbath News

Rock Legend Michael Hutchinson Unreleased Tracks Featured on "One Way" Limited Edition Red 10-Inch Picture Disc - Available From Deko Entertainment and Boss Sonics on July 19th

Stockton, NJ - In the pantheon of all-time great front men, the late Michael Hutchence seat at the table is secured. A consummate "rock star" if there ever was one, he embodied the spirit and smoldering swagger of rock 'n' roll while possessing one of the most iconic voices in the contemporary music scene. So, it was with an earth-rattling shudder when tragically he passed away in 1997, leaving a mind-numbingly impressive legacy across the entertainment real (continue)

More Michael Hutchinson News

Alberta Cross announces the upcoming release of their reworked 2007 debut 'The Thief and The Heartbreaker' due later this year. Each of the original seven songs and one bonus track will feature surprise guest artists, drawn from the array of stellar friends and musicians the band has known and worked with throughout their career.

Re-recorded in Frome, Somerset, at Ethan John and Dom Monks (Big Thief) Bert Jansch studio, (Big Thief), the forthcoming release was self-produced by Alberta Cross vocalist Petter Stakee, and mastered at the hallowed Abbey Road Studios. (continue)

More Alberta Cross News

Maximo Park are today announcing new album Stream Of Life for release on September 27th via Lower Third. News of the band's eighth studio album arrives alongside the release of its lead single 'Your Own Worst Enemy'.

The road to Stream Of Life saw the band link up once again with Ben Allen (Gnarls Barkley, Animal Collective), Grammy-winning producer of 2021's UK #2 charting, pandemic-era tour de force Nature Always Wins, as well as producer Burke Reid (Courtney Barnett, Julia Jacklin, Sports Team). As a result it marks the first time they have all been together in a studio to make an album since 2016. (continue)

More Maximo Park News

Welcome to NeX GEn...the wait is finally over. Today UK behemoths Bring Me The Horizon release their highly anticipated new album NeX GEn via Columbia Records.

NeX GEn is the latest chapter in the series to be revealed and sees the band expanding both musically and conceptually. Following on from 2020's POST HUMAN: Survival Horror - which featured collaborations with YUNGBLUD, Nova Twins, BABYMETAL and Evanescence's Amy Lee, and includes the huge hit singles "Teardrops" and "Obey". Sonically the album hits heavy, whilst frontman Oli's vocals are his most melodic to date. (continue)

More Bring Me The Horizon News

Twenty One Pilots have released their massively anticipated new album Clancy today via Fueled By Ramen. To celebrate the release, the duo of Tyler Joseph and Josh Dun joined fans on their YouTube channel last night for a special live stream where they debuted official music videos for every song on Clancy.

The group will celebrate the release of Clancy tonight with a special hometown underplay at Columbus, OH's Newport Music Hall, and will host a free 'Fan Premier Exhibit' in Columbus over the weekend at the Ohio State Bookstore, opening up the vault and showcasing artifacts and memorabilia from their history. The band have also announced exclusive release week pop-up shops in London, Sydney, Melbourne, and Brisbane which will open their doors to fans this weekend. (continue)

More Twenty One Pilots News

Imagine Dragons share "Nice to Meet You", the third single in the lead up to their highly anticipated upcoming album "LOOM", out June 28. The propulsive funk-pop track is an upbeat retelling of the foibles and beauty that comes in the beginning stages of a relationship.

The band has also revealed an accompanying music video for the track, directed by longtime band collaborator Matt Eastin. Set amid the nostalgic ambiance of a retro bar, the video captures the magnetic first encounter (or is it?) of lead-singer Dan Reynolds and a new love interest. (continue)

More Imagine Dragons News

Sublime announce the release of a new song titled "Feel Like That," marking the first original studio track to feature vocals by both the late Bradley Nowell and his son Jakob Nowell. Driven by the rhythm section of founding members Eric Wilson and Bud Gaugh, Sublime entrusted Scott Woodruff of Stick Figure to add his vocal style and production to the track. With the blend of old and new, father and son, "Feel Like That" delivers a fresh sound with elements of the classic Sublime vibe. "Feel Like That" is produced by Grammy award-contributing producers Stick Figure and Johnny Cosmic along with longtime Sublime collaborator Michael "Miguel" Happoldt.

"This song came about in an organic way. My uncles and I always want to collab with artists in different modern music scenes. But hearing my own voice on a track side by side with my dads voice really feels like the classic Sublime sound stepping into the modern era. SoCal music is my family's pride and joy and our family is getting bigger everyday. 'Feel Like That' captures this new sentiment and we want it to be the first of many. Who wants to join the family next?" - Jakob Nowell (continue)

More Sublime News

Jayce Turley released his new album, "Broke Down", today (May 24th) and to celebrate we asked him to tell us about the record's title track. Here is the story:

"Broke Down" is a song I wrote based on the true story of a van breakdown on our way home from Johnstown, Ohio. We had recently been offered a great gig - one of my favorites to date - in late 2022, and by January of 2023 we were on our way there. In good spirits with a full tank of gas and a fresh set of songs, we made our way to Johnstown. When we got to about Columbus, I had noticed some strange smells and sounds coming from my 2000 E-150 Ford Van, but chalked it off as something minor and kept trucking. (continue)

More Jayce Turley News

Share this article: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit email this article