Day in Rock logo

Day in Rock Report for 07/06/2024

A rare Eddie Van Halen guitar has been unearthed and is set to be auctioned. Called the 1993 Ernie Ball Music Man Signature Guitar, it is also known as the Canada Flag guitar and was used on stage during Van Halen's Canadian Day concert in July of 1993

Here is the official announcement from Julien Auctions: The guitar, unseen for 31 years - has resurfaced, igniting a wave of nostalgia and curiosity. Its backstory is as vibrant as its red and white paint job. Crafted in March 1993, the guitar, initially listed as 'Guitar Van Halen Purple Translucent,' may have undergone a transformation before its patriotic makeover. The maple neck, basswood body, and signature DiMarzio humbuckers remain a testament to Eddie Van Halen's meticulous style and eye for craftsmanship. (continue)

More Van Halen News

Bon Jovi massively promoted new studio album, "Forever", did not live up to its title and has in fact made history for the band, but not in a good way. It has become their first studio album to only spend one week on Billboard's 200 Top Album chart.

The album was released on July 7th and debuted at No. 5 on the Billboard 200 chart. According to Forbes, the album moved 50,000 "equivalent" units during its first week of release. (continue)

More Bon Jovi News

mgk (Machine Gun Kelly) is celebrating the 5th anniversary of his hit 2019 album, "Hotel Diablo", by releasing a special expanded deluxe edition with six new tracks, plus video.

Interscope shared these details for "Hotel Diablo: floor 13 edition":Classic songs like "I Think I'm Okay" featuring YUNGBLUD and "Glass House" with Naomi Wild are reimagined, as mgk gives the "Sad Version" to both tracks. He also includes a demo version of the fhem-featuring song "5:3666," while dropping a new track titled "Bullets With Names" with Young Thug, RJMrLA, and Lil Duke. (continue)

More mgk News

Riley's L.A. Guns is thrilled to announce the release of an acoustic rendition of their iconic track 'The Ballad of Jayne' on August 2nd via Golden Robot Records. This reimagined version offers fans a fresh, stripped-down take on one of the band's most beloved songs, showcasing their musical versatility and emotional depth.

In celebration of this release, Riley's L.A. Guns is also launching an exclusive 7-inch vinyl edition of the acoustic single. Available on August 16th, this special vinyl release can only be purchased as part of a bundle, making it a must-have collector's item for dedicated fans and vinyl enthusiasts alike. (continue)

More Riley's L.A. Guns News

The international Melodic Heavy (Power) Metal act Timeless Fairytale has just released their brand new track "New Dawn", which is the first single from the band's upcoming debut full-length "A Story to Tell". The album is set to be released on September 13 via ViciSolum Productions and the single is now available on all major digital platforms.

Guitarist and songwriter Luca Sellitto about the single: "I believe that 'New Dawn' is a perfect choice as a first single, cause it has all the core elements of our sound: a very melodic and memorable vocal line; a great riff, which has the potential to catch the listener's attention from the very first few notes; an energetic drums/bass work, based on a standard power metal 'sixtheenth-note' groove, but with the right dose of variation; a shredding guitar solo, very classically influenced; symphonic strings arrangements and majestic backing vocals layers. (continue)

More Timeless Fairytale News

UK thrash band Solitary have released a brand new single and video called "Filtering Hindsight". The track comes from their forthcoming album, "Embrace The Darkness," which will arrive on August 23rd

Frontman Rich Sherrington said of the track, "'Filtering Hindsight', for me, definitely has a Black Album Metallica vibe about it, which adds a nice depth to the album as a whole. (continue)

More Solitary News

Riotous Indignation have released their brand new single "Wheel of Misfortune." Music and lyrics written, performed, recorded, mixed, and produced by Mike Repel. Mastered by Doug McBride at Gravity Studios.

What makes "Wheel of Misfortune" unique is that the intro section of the song is old-timey country arrangement that builds up to a full-bore thrash metal onslaught that abruptly smacks you in the face and then follows with some moshable breakdowns as well. (continue)

More Riotous Indignation News

According to Jack, the acoustic project of Giacomo Rampazzo, just released their debut EP "Reason To Exist", and to celebrate we asked Giacomo to tell us about the track "Three Cheers For The Good Times". Here is the story:

"Three Cheers For The Good Times" is an ode to the good days spent in good company, where problems seem to disappear over a good glass of beer. (continue)

More According to Jack News

Share this article: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit email this article